top of page

The Finndale Mystery

Paige’s POV

I’m never that emotional, but I know what happened between Arya and Andy was a misunderstanding, I just want him to tell her himself. It’s also not hard to tell that Andy likes Arya, but she hasn’t noticed, she might not have seen him on Mrs Corlis’ garage roof today, but he’s there whenever Arya stays at my house. It’s sweet. And creepy. In the upper school of Cedar and Lake there isn’t really separation, that’s why the two years are like one, that’s how Arya and I are friends. I used to babysit Willow for a while, during her parents’ divorce, that’s how I know her, and she just stuck.

I made sure Arya and Willow both wore coats before we left the house. It was Spring, but the evenings were still cold. The walk to the park doesn’t take too long, about 10 minutes. This year it looked prettier than every other year, I say that each time. The sky was dark and there were very few stars, so the park looked dazzlingly attractive. We trudged across the grass to the bench opposite the fountain, we always sat there. The fountain was lit so the water looked blue and glowing.

Willow complained about staying at her dad’s house with his girlfriend, Gloria Vert. I think she is Latin, and she’s such a dear, but I can understand that Willow is still resentful about Ms Sandy and Mr Tony Guin being divorced. I was half listening to her when I saw Andy and Alex enter through the black railed gates. Behind them was Louisa Major, Tanya Gray and Lizzie Lorn. I was glad that Arya was reading and didn’t notice, because even I felt a pang of jealously knowing Tanya had a crush on Alex too. I think she’s in the year below me, but I have no idea why lizzie is always with them; she is probably twenty something and she left the school 4 years ago…

“-So, she asks me why I don’t have friends in my year, why?! I shut people out after the divorce, that makes it her fault- Are you listening to me?”

“What? Yeah…” I reply distracted.

She notices and grunts, I’m looking at Alex, staring, I don’t realise until he smiles at me from across the park. I return with probably a lopsided attempt at a smile, then turned away.

Shortly after that, we walked to the Karaoke Klub. I pushed open one of the dark purple doors and we walked down the twisting wooden staircase. The room had a few golden and purple spotlights, there were some slightly old leather sofas on the laminate floor and a screen at the front. There was a glossy wooden stage, not elevated too much, and tall lamps shining on it. Tables with snacks and soda were placed near the centre of the room. The stained windows were hidden by indigo silk curtains, you couldn’t see much from them either than the brick wall or the street above. We went in, greeting familiar faces, the room had a comfortable feel and we proceeded to where we usually sat. Soon, Alex and those who accompanied him entered, I tried to look away, but he noticed and came to us. We all talked about school and TV shows and passed time until 8pm.

The lights were dimmed as some people went on stage to sing, it went on for about 30 minutes until the break. Willow seemed disturbed and went out for some fresh air, I decided to give her some space and stay down.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page