top of page

Capri, Amalfi And The Sea


*I might also describe the clothes I wore each day just as a personal memory.

I woke up in the morning (obviously) and cleaned my teeth. I wore a turquoise top and denim shorts, I hadn't properly brushed my hair that day so I wore a cap. My dad and I went up to the breakfast room (as seen in the images) and I ate some chocolate cake, green tea and biscuits, while the TV was showing 'Disney Junior' in Italian. Later, some more of my family woke up and came in for breakfast, my cousins weren't there because they were at another hotel, but it was kind of peaceful without them.....

After, I packed essentials (sun cream, hand sanitizer, water, hair brush, towel etc.....) in a pink drawstring bag, given to me by my cousins, then we all gathered in the lobby.

We left the hotel into the warm streets of Sorrento to the 'lift' I mentioned previously, we got down to the coast and walked past big jagged rocks to a ticket area and the 'docks'. Here we waited a while for our boat to arrive, when it did I sat in the second row and then my mum tied my hair into a ponytail.

The boat had many other people in it too, some had to stand due to the lack of seating. We quickly floated away from the seaside leaving a trail of foam and bubbles, looking back at Sorrento it seemed surrounded in fog and smoke for some reason. The boat was fast, but the journey still took some time.....

We sung songs to distract us and pass time, I love the sea and water a lot so I was really enjoying it! When we arrived at Capri, I realised the drink 'Capri Sun' is name after the island, we walked to the boat rental area but were told the waves were too rough, so we went to find a restaurant because my cousins hadn't had a proper breakfast.

I sat in the shade watching them eat because I didn't order anything, so I just fiddled with a sachet of brown sugar. After they'd eaten, my cousin needed to go to the bathroom (the other day as well, and at other inconvenient times during the trip) so her mum took her to find one. Some of the people went to buy hats and sunglasses at a local shop while we waited. Then my auntie found a boat tour so we found the line for that instead. A famous sight there was the 'Blue Grotto' but no boats were going there that day sadly..... The boat got there eventually, so we sat down, the water looked amazing as we set off. My uncle took photos, but I spent most of my time just staring at the vast blue surrounding us, the cliff faces were stony and huge and there were a few sea caves as well. On the way back of the tour I began to feel a little seasick so I closed my eyes, it was probably the speed and bumps. Finally we arrived at the docks again, our group stopped for gelato but I wasn't feeling it. Those islands were famous for something called 'limoncello' a sparkling lemon drink, which I also have a body spray of..... Anyway, so I bought this lemon and ginger drink to help with the queasiness, it tasted really nice!

We got ready to take another boat back to Sorrento, I think I fell asleep but we got back and I wasn't as sick. We walked along the coast until we reached a sort of clearing, we were wearing swimsuits under our clothes, so we could swim in the sea for a while when some of the adults walked backed to the hotel. The sea wasn't ice-cold, it was nice and warm as we sat on the pebbles and sand under the water, I swam a little but we only had 10 minutes. We walked back to our hotel, my hair was super wet and my shorts were dripping. In our room, my sister took a shower first and took really long washing her hair, so I changed my outfit and left my wet clothes on the balcony to dry. I was now wearing a black t-shirt with gold writing and a red and black skirt. I drank cinnamon and orange tea and re-did my hair. I was really paranoid when walking down the glass steps because of my skirt, so I took the elevator. The rest of us sat on the sofa on the first floor. We ate left-over pizza and snacks before we left to take a bus to Amalfi.

The bus stop was a short walk from the hotel, we had to wait a long time for the bus arrive but when it did, 3 from our group had gone to buy crisps so we had to wait again. We may have waited an hour or two until all of us could get on the bus, even so we were delayed for a while in the vehicle. Just when we were going to start, my sister screamed "my shoe!" as her flip-flop had almost slipped out of the closing doors, thankfully she got it back and we began our journey.

The ride took awfully long, I began to feel slightly motion sick due to the bumpiness of the mountainous route. After two hours (or more) of terrible boredom we arrived at Amalfi. We wandered around the coast, then walked inland on the cobbled roads. There was a big, white perhaps 'church building' which we ran up and down the stairs of, then we had a photo taken of our group. It started to rain, and so we sought shelter in an alley. Then we found a restaurant for dinner, I shared a pizza with some salad on top and peach juice. Obviously dinner took some time, and after it had become dark but we walked back to the coast so my uncle could fly his drone.

The lights scattered across the cliff side looked amazing but we needed to catch the bus back to our hotel. The bus arrived and we waited to go inside, and some of the group stayed back to get a later bus. Eventually we departed and the bus was packed, my dad and I sung some songs randomly and then I fell asleep.

Finally we arrived at the stop as I sleepily walked back to the hotel. Earlier in the day the 'AC problem' was fixed and so my cousins moved back into their room. I brushed my teeth and changed my clothes, I think I put my phone on charge as well before I went to sleep.

Amie


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page