top of page

The Finndale Mystery


Arya’s POV

We sat there in silence for a few minutes, before I spoke, “Sorry Paige.”

“It’s fine, I’m sorry for overreacting.” She replied. Her phone buzzed, she checked it before blushing pink. Alex had texted her, probably, she’s had a crush on him for so long. I’ve always thought they both like each other but neither of them admits it, and if you see the situation socially, I don’t, but they wouldn’t be in the same social status (if that makes sense).

“Oooh… Alex texted Paige!” Willow teased.

“He’s just asking if we’re going to the ‘Karaoke Klub’, what should I say?”

“Just say yes, we’re going to see fairy lights in the park anyway.” I say. Each spring the local park is decorated with fairy lights, flowers and colourful string, tonight’s the first night this year so we go to see it. Oh, and the ‘Karaoke Klub’ is this place on the corner of Blaire Road, opposite the park. We go there every Friday evening, or other nights as well if we’re free. Not many people go there, and those that do we know from our school. We just sing, talk, eat and drink there basically.

“I wanted to watch the news! The Major Research Centre is opening its new science lab today!” Willow says excitedly, whilst skipping towards the television. “Ummm… I think Mrs Corlis is upstairs, either raiding your fridge or hogging the bathroom…” She also points out.

“Yes, I saw her leave.” Paige murmurs annoyed.

“Why would you want to see anything to do with The Major Research Centre?! All you’ll see is Louisa posing and bragging live, and you can see that at school.” I say. Louisa Major is a girl in the year above me, she’s spoilt and rich. She’s the ‘Queen Bee’ girl, being ‘popular’ with her sidekicks, there always seems to be someone like her.

“You’re just upset because her boyfriend is Andy Stark.” Willow points out childishly, and I could see she regretted her words almost as soon as she said them. “Oh, sorry.” She murmurs.

“Shut up Willow! I mean, stop it, you know you shouldn’t mention Andy……” Paige chides harshly.

“It’s okay, it doesn’t matter.” I say, when it does matter, to me. Andy Stark is a boy in my year, we were friends, close friends, but it’s been at least a few years since we fell out. He still smiles at me and acts as if nothing happened. It’s hard to avoid him though, since his parents split up he alternates between who’s house he stays at. His mother’s house is a little down the road from Paige’s, and his father’s residence happens to be right next to mine. Although people say that he’s Louisa’s boyfriend, I’ve never fully believed it because I know they’re very different.

The TV had been on and I didn’t notice. Louisa was smiling brightly, playing with her hair and chatting to the media.

“Oh, I’m so excited about all the wonderful discoveries I just know will take place in this very lab. Facilities like this will support future generations to make this world a better place, I feel so inspired already…… Cutting the ribbon was such an honour, I want to thank my uncle Charlie and my father for that, yes my father the millionaire, Mr Arnold Major!”

Louisa’s sickening voice seemed to radiate from the speakers and echo in my mind-

“ARYA!” Paige called, “Snap out of it!”.

“Oh, right…” I sighed, whilst adjusting my square framed glasses above my head, like a headband. I don’t really need them anymore, I’m just used to them. Willow was doing imitations of Louisa, I know she felt bad, so I giggled behind my hand, to show I wasn’t upset. Paige switched off the TV and gestured for me to stand up and held my phone out towards me. I knew she wanted me to play music, because whenever the atmosphere was tense or stressful, we danced around like crazy. We rarely did it now, because it seemed childish, but I guess we were going to it then.

For a few minutes we could forget, laugh about stupid stuff and it was nice.

Often and strangely, Andy would be watching us from the low roof of the garage next door, it was funny and embarrassing. I don’t know if ‘fell out’ is the right way to describe Andy and I, we weren’t bitter towards each other, in fact he was friends with Alex, so I saw him at the ‘Karaoke Klub’ most of the time. I guess I was just hurt that we weren’t like before.

I didn’t talk to him directly for weeks after the things he said about me, maybe we’re not even quite friends now, but I’ve forgotten about that. Mostly.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

© 2017 by AA. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Google+ - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
bottom of page